Duterte urges government officials to serve with honesty, dedication, 10 Jan. 2017

President Rodrigo Duterte led on Monday the oathtaking of newly appointed government officials in Malacanan urging them to serve the people with integrity and dedication.

Duterte congratulated the officials who took their oath particularly those returning to government service.

Six years from now, I do not think that you’d be in a position to work some more.

So this is the last call para may magawa tayo sa kababayan natin. Just give it to them,” the President said during a speech after leading the oathtaking ceremony.

“It’s your last call to serve your nation and because I am pleading to you and I hope that we can work together, trust each other and I said give it to the people this time,” he added.

He reiterated that there will be no corruption in his government and also promised to fight red tape in the bureaucracy. In his entire career as public servant, he said, he never favored anyone especially businessmen applying for permits. 

The President also highlighted the necessity of solving the Mindanao problem noting failure to address the concerns of the Moro people will give rise to uncertainties in the future.

At the same time, he renewed his campaign pledge to get rid of illegal drugs promising that the ongoing war on drugs will continue until the last drug pusher or drug lord is out of the street.

Among the appointees who took their oath were Michael Dalumpines, chairman, Asian Productivity organization (APO) Production Unit Inc.; Emmanuel Diwa Pineda, chairman and administrator, Authority of the Freeport Area of Bataan; Angelo Verdan, general manager, Cebu Port Commission; Vicente Pelagio Achacoso Angala, COO, Duty Free Philippines Corp.; and Reynaldo Berroya, administrator, Lightrail Transit Authority.

Other appointees were Steve Dicdican, general manager, Mactan-Cebu International Airport; Eddie Monreal, general manager, Manila International Airport Authority; Edgardo Rama Masongsong, administrator, National Electrification Administration; Jason Laureno Yazar Aquino, administrator, National Food Authority; Andrea Domingo, chairman and CEO, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp.; Alfredo Lim, president and COO, PAGCOR; and Avelino Andal, administrator-CEO, Philippine Coconut Authority.

Also sworn in were Reuben Simon Lista, president and CEO, Philippine National Oil Co.; Joel Otarra, postmaster general, Philippine Postal Corp.; Alberto Agra, chairman, Philippine Reclamation Authority, Janilo Espesor Rubiato, general manager, Philippine Reclamation Authority; Sherwin Smith Rigor, chairman, Poro Management Corp.; and Emmanuel Dooc, president and CEO, Social Security System.

Also appointed were Wilma Eisma, administrator, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority; Allan Cayao Guisihan, executive director, Philippine Center on Transnational Crime; William Ramirez, Philippine Sports Commission; Benjamin Panganiban Reyes, chairman, Dangerous Drugs Board; Terry Ridon, chairperson, Presidential Commission for Urban Poor; Wifredo Campasas Roldan, executive director, Fertilizer and Pesticide Authority, Jose Miranda Layug Jr., chairman, National Renewal Energy; Alfegar Menchavez Triambolo, inspector general, International Affairs Service, PNP-DILG; Joel Egco, executive director, Committee on Media Killings, DOJ; Luisito Clavano, executive director, Road Board, DPWH; Penelope Belmonte, executive director, National Parks Development Committee; Cesar Montano, COO, Tourism Promotions Board, DOT; Jim Sydiongco, director general, Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines; Jose Alvarez, chairperson, Regional Development Council, Region IV-B, NEDA; Marilou Mendoza, chairperson, Tariff Commission, NEDA; and Bernelito Fernandez, associate justice, Sandiganbayan.  ###PND