News Release

President Duterte confers Presidential Medal of Merit to Secretary Andanar, other Cabinet members

Manila – Acting Presidential Spokesman and Communications Secretary Martin Andanar received a Presidential Medal of Merit personally conferred by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte in Malacañang, Thursday night.

The Presidential Merit Award is one of the highest awards conferrred by a Philippine President to individuals in recognition of their contribution to nation building.

Secretary Andanar expressed his gratitude to President Duterte and Senator Christopher “Bong” Go, and likewise dedicated the award to his fellow workers at PCOO.

“I am dedicating this award to all the men and women of my department who worked hard with me to communicate the government’s message during the most difficult times of the pandemic,” he said.

He also thanked his family, who supported him throughout his career in government.

President Duterte also conferred awards to some members of his cabinet, including Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, OPAPRU Adviser Sec. Carlito Galvez Jr., Health Undersecretary Ma. Rosario Vergeire, Education Secretary Leonor Briones, Social Welfare Secretary Rolando Bautista, Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III, Civil Service Commission Chairman Karlo Nograles, Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, Interior Secretary Eduardo Año, Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez II, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, National Security Adviser Sec. Hermogenes Esperon, Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi, and Philippine Sports Commission Chairman William Ramirez.

Transportation Secretary Tugade and Presidential Adviser for COVID-19 Response Sec. Vince Dizon were conferred the Order of Lakandula with the rank “Bayani” (Grand Cross).

Other PCOO officials namely, RTVM Executive Director Assistant Secretary Dennis Wilfred Pabalan, Assistant Secretary for Special Concerns Joseph Lawrence “Bam” Garcia, and Undersecretary for Media Accreditation and Relations Office Feducia Mia M. Reyes-Lucas were conferred with Order of Lapu-lapu with the rank of Magalong.

Meanwhile, Senator Christopher “Bong” Go received the Order of Lakandula with the rank of Grand Cross and Order of Lapu-Lapu with the rank of Magalong.