From Presidential Spokesperson Ernie Abella on the Joint Statement of the Leftist Cabinet Members, 08 Feb. 2017

We are pleased to hear that DSWD Sec. Judy Taguiwalo, DAR Sec. Rafael Mariano and NAPC Lead Convenor Sec. Liza Maza will stay in the Cabinet despite the scrapping of peace talks with the CPP-NPA-NDFP.

The President chose them as his alter egos because he believes in their capacity to serve and deliver sustainable basic social services to the Filipino people. They all enjoy the President’s trust and confidence.

We assure everyone that the government shall continue to pursue genuine socio-economic reforms to alleviate poverty and promote a just and lasting peace. The Duterte administration remains fully committed to the task of uniting our people and working with all sectors to achieve peace and inclusive development during its term.