Other Government Release

Implementation of 7AM-4PM Adjusted Work Schedule for Metro Manila LGUs Moved to May 2

The Metro Manila Council has agreed to defer the implementation of the 7am to 4pm new work schedule for the local government units of Metro Manila to May 2, instead of April 15, to give more time to prepare for the transition of the adjusted work hours.

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Acting Chairman Atty. Don Artes said that the new work schedule is expected to have a positive impact on the traffic flow in the metropolis.

“With only 22% of the total 645,000 permanent government employees in NCR, peak hours will be spread out. There is also a huge impact in public utility vehicles ridership with almost half a million government employees commuting. From our observation 4pm is off-peak hours in terms of ridership, the employees can easily go home while those in the private sector can expect decongested public transportation,” he said.

San Juan City Mayor and MMC President Francis Zamora, for his part, said that each of the LGUs can develop their own respective flexible work arrangements that are feasible to their LGUs to ensure unhampered delivery of services. Meanwhile, offices and departments offering frontline services will not be subject to the adjusted working hours.

“There are many services that the LGUs are offering – predominantly are office-based while some are on-the-ground. But in general, time of transaction in usual offices will be from 7am to 4pm but the LGUs must ensure that all clients will be accommodated even until 5pm,” he said.

Artes also said that the MMDA will also be implementing the 7am to 4pm work schedule for the agency, with the exception of its frontline personnel such as traffic enforcers and road emergency group.

He also relayed that other national government agencies located in Metro Manila were asked by President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. to submit suitable alternative work arrangement proposals in line with the 7am-4pm schedule to lessen rush hour traffic.

“All the mayors agreed that each one of us will have our own observations and recommendations after a month of the implementation of the new work schedule and will present the results to Malacanang,” he said.

Further, Artes emphasized that there will be no adjustment in number coding hours in light of the adjusted work hours for the local government units.

“There is no need to change the number coding scheme. In fact, it will be more beneficial to government employees since they will not be affected, given that the policy will be in effect within the adjusted working hours,” he explained.

The MMDA’s number coding scheme is implemented from 7am to 10am and 5pm to 8pm on weekdays, except weekends and holidays.

Meanwhile, Artes said the MMDA will start to strictly enforce the regulation on the e-bike, e-trike, light electric vehicles, tricycles, pedicabs, push carts, and kuligligs on April 15.

“Starting Monday, we will apprehend these vehicles that are not allowed on major roads which are under the MMDA’s jurisdiction. There will be no extension. Violators will be fined P2,500 and if the driver has no license and the vehicle has no registration, it will be subject to impoundment.”

Coinciding with the start of the implementation of the regulation is the transport strike to be done by Manibela and PISTON which Artes said the government will readily respond to.

“Contingency measures are in place and we will monitor particular areas where the two transport groups reportedly have members. Libreng sakay vehicles will likewise be on standby and are ready to be dispatched to accommodate those who will be affected,” Artes said.

Obet Martin of transport group PASANGMASDA also expressed that other transport groups who make up “Magnificent 7” will not join the impending transport strike.

The Magnificent 7 is made up of Pasang Masda, Alliance of Transport Operators and Drivers Association of the Philippines, Alliance of Concerned Transport Organizations, Federation of Jeepney Operators and Drivers Association of the Philippines, Stop and Go Transport Coalition, and Liga ng Transportasyon at Operators sa Pilipinas. ##